Alabama Welcomes EWGA for Championship Semi-Finals

Winners Advance to World's Largest Amateur Championship for Women

(PALM BEACH GARDENS, FLORIDA) – The EWGA ( will conduct its North Florida/Southeast Semi-Final District Championship at the RTJ Oxmoor Valley Golf Course on July 14.

Amateur women golfers who are members of the EWGA from Georgia, Alabama, South Carolina, Louisiana and Northern Florida chapters will compete during semi-final rounds to vie for a select few spots to advance to the EWGA National Championship at PGA National Resort & Spa in October.

The world's largest amateur championship for women, the EWGA Championship series began this spring with local chapter qualifiers in 130 U.S.-based cities. The North/Florida/Southeast Semi-Finals is one of 15 regional championships to be conducted nationwide through the summer months. The series includes both individual stroke play and team scramble divisions.

Competitors from the lower Southeast advanced to the semi-finals by taking home low net or gross honors at any of nine regional EWGA chapter qualifiers, held in Acadiana, Atlanta, Augusta, Birmingham, Daytona Beach, Jacksonville, Orlando, Savannah or Hilton Head in their respective flights.

"Every year, thousands of working women exchange their business suit for a golf shirt to compete in the championship series," says EWGA CEO and President Pam Swensen. "We're looking forward to see who from the lower Southeast region will advance to the finals in October."

Players will be welcomed by 2011 EWGA National Scramble Team champions from Birmingham at the Robert Trent Jones Trail course. The four-person team, including Captain Terri Henderson, Dianne Young, Pia Todora and Sylvia Sumners, receive an automatic buy into the national championship, and will not compete in semi-final rounds.

Women with a USGA handicap of 40.4 or better can enter the stroke play event and will compete in one of five flights, determined by handicap. Both low gross and low net winners of this weekend's event advance to the national championship.

Scramble teams consist of four players; only one team member can have a handicap of 12 or under to enter. The team with the lowest aggregate score advances to the finals.

More than 2,400 women amateur competitors among the EWGA's total roster of 14,000 current and aspiring business and professional women who play golf will compete in the EWGA National Championship series. Competitors must be a member of the EWGA, have a verifiable USGA handicap, and retain their amateur status according to the USGA rules of golf.

A complete list of semi-final sites and rules can be found at

For more information about EWGA and membership, visit

About the EWGA
EWGA has connected more than 100,000 current and aspiring business and professional women who share a passion for golf and good times. EWGA membership offers many benefits, including affordable organized golf that fits a working woman's schedule, networking, competition, and learning opportunities that support career advancement.
Twitter: @ewga

Download Full Press Release (word)